Realizing the Coder within

I have this dream. It’s one of many, but a consistent one that I look into the face of daily. I want to be able to create a blog or website by myself. I want the ability to look at a website, hate it, and be able to plan, build and publish a better one. I want to be able to create personalized websites for friends and for profit. Just knowing that I can produce such a thing of beauty.

I know that building websites isn’t considered an art form, but I want my screen caps of my creations posted on all of those ‘100 top web layouts’ post I’m always reading for inspiration. I want a portfolio that looks like it should be hung in a museum.


5-Coding-Challenges-to-Help-You-Train-Your-Brain

When I was a child, My first computer was the Commodore 64. I would write a full screen flashcard program to teach my siblings their ABCs in BASIC. As a teen, I was trying to take Computer Science classes at the local community college and learn C++ (I lacked the support and focus needed to continue).

As an adult, I was one of those Myspace Scene Kids with 10k friends and dabbled a bit in html. When I discovered that I could vent my frustrations in a weblog for any one to read, I took to blogging for a good 5 years. I had gained some proficiency in HTML and CSS, I figured out how websites could work, but not why. Realizing my potential I’ve decided to learn more about coding.

66564

I’ve recently finished my refresher course for HTML and CSS. Afterwards I felt like an idiot. My main elements in blog design are little widgets that are plugged into unorthodox places. My biggest issue was the div containers, it was a simple lesson.

I want to make websites and blog templates, there’s some good money in it if you want to submit to certain pay sites. and I just have these amazing ideas that I want to put on paper and online. But it seems that to be a decent coder you need to understand the most popular languages like Python and Ruby. But instead of trying to learn the bare minimum, The Hacker boss states that I should learn other programs to better developed my website building ideals. So I’m working on JavaScript right now. It’s a little weird and I’m going to have to go through the whole again, but I’m happy with the progress I’ve made.

 

Leave a Reply

