Leggings: my newest wardrobe staple

 

Often than not, you’ll see me in these black leggings that, I will admit, came from Walgreens. I’ve bought 2 sets so far (my mom stole my first two pair) and I have to admit that I love them.

These particular pair are 50% opaque. For those of you that don’t understand, it means that it’s better not to wear underwear with them (if you are wearing them as pants).

At first, I fell head over heels in love with them. I had to divorce myself from denim bottoms. my naturally thick thighs were rubbing in holes and I would lose a decent pair in about 3 months. I took some old advice given to me by an old friend, Eri, to just forgot denim because it didn’t seem ladylike. Although I don’t agree on the lady like part, leggings were a beneficial replacement.

Then there was this niggling fashion troll in the back of my head saying “This is a fashion don’t.” So I took to the net and hard pressed search for reasons it was okay to wear leggings as a basic staple to my wardrobe. And boy did I. There were so many different rules that states the proper way to wear them. Then I came across this article.

“Tights have exerted their control-tops over our torso-crotch areas for too long. They snag on everything. They warp in the wash. They create itches that cannot be scratched. The discomfort of the toe seam is, frankly, egregious. But it doesn’t have to be this way: Sturdy. Footless. Washable. Leggings.”

And with that, I was able to let go of my nagging stigma and enjoy my leggings for watch they were. Sturdy, footless, and comfortable. I only a have couple of black pairs in my collection, but soon I will add more. Here’s some pictures that inspire me about leggings:

tumblr_myzxrp0pnE1qecroco2_500 tumblr_mboglgj1Bu1r4cmzeo1_500 tumblr_mdc7dnrZXP1r5kru7o1_400 tumblr_me2ufdk6rn1qj1v4fo1_500 tumblr_memsfcNQ1l1qjsn5wo1_500 tumblr_mfqstfcScs1r4cmzeo1_500 tumblr_mfur0hUFIl1qgzj1eo1_500 tumblr_mg2vpt8bLO1r4ycddo1_500 SONY DSC tumblr_mgznx6CaVo1rdr1j5o1_500 tumblr_mhferfo2AV1qbi6kqo1_500 tumblr_mnfhjm5lwm1qhwtk9o1_500 tumblr_mppjvtQFv91s27voio1_1280 tumblr_mp7pupxCwx1qdubc7o1

 

Leave a Reply

